The Seven Basic Plots, 6


Tragedy: The Five Stages

1. Anticipation: the hero is in some way incomplete or unfulfilled.
2. Dream: he becomes in some way committed to his course of action .
3. Frustration: things begin to go wrong.
4. Nightmare: things are now slipping seriously out of the hero's control.
5. Destruction: the hero is destroyed.
(Booker, 2004: 156)